Change Text Size: Extra large text size  Large text size  Standard text size | Colour: Black on yellow Black on white Black on pink Standard colours
A revised guidance document of LKS staff has been issued on library and ILDS and copyright with FAQs.
The For Information: NHS Copyright page has been extensively updated to reflect the CLA Plus Licence and the launch of NHS Copyright First Responders.


Change to Innovations Awards for 2016

We will not be judging innovation submissions for awards in 2016. Submissions can be made and they will be added to the Innovations wiki as "initiatives to be shared". We hope to call for innovation submissions again in 2016 with awards being made in 2017.

What are LQAF Innovations?

As part of the self-assessment process for the NHS Library Quality Assurance Framework (LQAF) service managers are asked to identify examples of the 4 categories of innovation (Marketing, Organisational, Process and Product Innovation) within their service.

Recognising and Rewarding Innovation in NHS LKS June 2012  explains what constitutes an innovation. There is an innovation and initiative template (updated September 2014)  for completion by the service manager which should be read in conjunction with Guidance on LKS Innovation & Initiative Submissions. The service manager then submits the form to their LKS Lead for further consideration.

This checklist is used by the LKS Lead to help determine which submissions are then sent to the judging panel of LKS Leads and service managers who decide on the annual innovation awards.

Initiatives to be Shared: Widening Access

The HEE LKS Leads agreed to promote other LKS initiatives that were not innovations but would be useful to share to spread the learning.From 2013 library and knowledge services will be encouraged to submit initiatives to be shared that will not go forward to the national innovations judging panel. The initiatives will be added to a section of the innovations wiki for all to see.

Rewarding Innovation

In 2010 the SHA Library Leads introduced four awards in the Sally Hernando* Award for Innovation in NHS Library and Knowledge Services.

The table below lists documents for you to download and the links to pages relating to the awards:


Results of judging of submissions

Overview of process & summary of submissions

(download as a PDF)

Link to pages of submissions


39 submissions for judging

(Innovations = 14, Good Practice = 13, To share = 12

2014-15 overview and summary of submissions 

2014-15 winners and runners-up

See all submissions of the wiki


36 submissions for judging

(Innovation = 11, Good Practice = 23, To share = 2)

Plus 69 initiatives to share

2013-14 overview and summary of submissions 

2013-14 winners and runners-up

See all submissions on the wiki


81 submissions

(Innovation = 30 and Good Practice = 51)


2012-13 overview and summary of submissions

2012-13 winners and runners-up

See all submissions on the wiki


84 submissions

(Innovation = 24 and Good Practice = 60)

2011-12 overview and summary of submissions

2011-12 winners and runners-up

See all submissions on the wiki


83 submissions

(Innovation = 36 and Good Practice = 47)

2010-11 overview and summary of submissions

2010-11 winners and runners-up

See all submissions on the wiki


















Copies of all the innovation submissions judged either innovations or good practice can be downloaded from for all the years the awards have been running.

Innovations Database

You can now search the submissions from previous years by category using the innovations database.

* Sally Hernando (1957-2010) was the former Head of Knowledge Management and E-learning at NHS South West. Sally led on many innovative national developments and was a great supporter of developing library services to their fullest potential.

Further information about Sally is available in The Swimming Pool issue 16 2010, the newsletter of the SW information management system.

Page Updated 4 May 2015